Professional Development & Recognition in Nursing



Join our team, apply today!

Apply Now

Graduate Nurse Residency Program


Shirley Ryan AbilityLab has a robust, comprehensive infrastructure for newly graduated registered nurses (RNs) to expand their knowledge and skills in nursing management and leadership. The program includes organizational orientation, practice-based experience and supplemental activities to promote professional development.

As participants in the program, graduate RNs move from entry-level competence toward proficiency and expertise within the defined standards of practice for rehabilitation patients.

This program is recognized, with distinction, as an American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Practice Transition Accreditation Program (PTAP). ANCC is the same organization that awards Magnet distinction.)

American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) logo

Who’s eligible?


RNs who have:

  • Graduated from an accredited school of nursing (bachelor’s or master’s degree)
  • Fewer than 12 months’ experience
  • Worked at Shirley Ryan AbilityLab for at least 3 months
  • Successfully completed their initial transition into practice experience on their designated units

Our highly regarded accreditation program is meant to ensure that you have the support, mentorship and professional development opportunities to help you advance in your career.

Professional Nursing Advancement Program


Our peer-directed program empowers, facilitates and recognizes clinical nursing professional development. For nurses, we have three levels of development — Specialist, Expert and Scholar — and each level varies in focus and eligibility requirements.

The program requires at least one year of nursing experience at the time of application. Applicants with prior nursing experience from another institution have an opportunity to apply for Specialist or Expert level if they successfully fulfill the requirements and have completed the 90-day probationary period after hire.

Tuition Reimbursement and Continuing Education


  • Tuition reimbursement up to $5,250 annually
  • Reimbursement for RN specialty certification costs including paid annual dues
  • Unlimited free CE credits for RNs through the staff education portal & CE Direct

97% of our clinical nurses have BSN or higher degree – ranking us nearly 20% higher than most other hospitals. Shirley Ryan AbilityLab supports nurses' continuing education with a variety of programs.

Shirley Ryan AbilityLab is an American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) accredited provider of Nursing Continuing Professional Development (NCPD).

DAISY and BEE Awards


The DAISY Award is an international recognition program that honors and celebrates the skillful, compassionate care that nurses provide every day. Sponsored by the DAISY Foundation, the award was established in 1999 to honor the late J. Patrick Barnes after his death from complications related to an auto-immune disease.

The BEE Award is a recognition program to celebrate the patient care from our Patient Care Technicians.

We join hundreds of hospitals around the world in celebrating our nurses through nominations from their patients, patient families and caregivers, colleagues and others in our organization.

Join our team, apply today!

Let's get connected.

Request an appointment