Daisy Award Pattern


The DAISY Nursing Awards


The DAISY Foundation


The DAISY Award is an international recognition program that honors and celebrates the skillful, compassionate care nurses provide every day. The DAISY Foundation, sponsors of the award, was established in 1999 following the death of J. Patrick Barnes from complications from an auto-immune disease. Today, the Shirley Ryan AbilityLab joins these hospitals in celebrating our nurses through nominations from our patients, their families & caregivers and our staff.

Criteria for DAISY Awards


To qualify for a DAISY Award, a Shirley Ryan AbilityLab nurse must have...

  • Established a special connection with patients and families through trust and emotional support.
  • Provided compassionate care. Kept the patient and their family at the center of care.
  • Demonstrated professionalism in the work environment.
  • Developed key relationships with others.
  • Communicated clearly and effectively with coworkers and patients.
  • Committed to the highest standards of professional nursing practice.
  • Demonstrated excellent clinical and critical thinking skills.
  • Focused on meeting patient and family goals.

Awards are given throughout the year at presentations given in front of the nurse’s colleagues, physicians, patients, and visitors.  Each Honoree will receive a certificate commending her or him for being an "Extraordinary Nurse."

Let's get connected.

Request an appointment